3 Tips for Getting Your Zzzzs…

I have trouble sleeping sometimes. Like I’ll get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and take forever to fall asleep again. Or I’ll go to bed with something on my mind and end up fretting, tossing and turning. If I get up to surf the internet or get a glass of milk, it only ensures that I’ll be up for another hour, wasting time and still worrying. Because I’m a worry wart. Here are three tips that help me to sleep slightly easier.

Dress in Layers

I like pillows and lots of blanket layers. Even if it’s hot, I like the option of a thin, medium and heavy cover. Of course everyone is different but if you don’t have a nice sheet set, splurge for one. Because you won’t know that you were missing a 300+ thread count until you’ve experienced it.

Printed Batik Quilt, $84

Dreamy Scents

Preparing for sleep is just as important as falling asleep. I like to put on the dim light and make sure the room is breezy with the window open or the fan blowing. (I’m a finicky sleeper)! The extra touch of a room spray or fragrant floral associates slumber for me so I love dried lavender or a scent like Basil Room Freshener does the trick.

Basil Room Freshener, $4.99

Night Light

Every evening when I walk into my bedroom, I don’t turn on the overhead, only the soft glow of the orb lamp on my nightstand. It’s just enough light to read by but dim enough to make my eyelids heavy – the perfect accessory after a long day. And, you can adjust the bulb voltage to what ever you please.

Fado Table Lamp, $19.99

Leave a Reply

